National Technical Honor Society Induction

Grant Career Center inducted thirty-two new members into the Elizabeth Abbott Chapter of the National Technical Honor Society on March 18, 2015. Membership in the National Technical Honor Society is dependent upon outstanding characteristics in many areas of a student’s life.  In addition to scholarship, the students are rated on such qualities as leadership, service, citizenship, skill, honesty, and responsibility. Students are expected to achieve in all areas before membership is extended by the Society.  

Superintendent Lisa Tuttle-Huff opened the ceremony with an explanation of the history of the Elizabeth Abbott Chapter and Principal Barry Daulton shared the purpose of the National Technical Honor Society. Current members of the National Technical Honor Society explained to the guests the attributes that comprise the Honor Society qualifications.

Current members of the National Technical Honor Society include seniors Amber Arthur (Allied Health Science); Rachel Burdell, Desirae Murphy, and Ashley Redmond (Criminal Justice); Dalton Henderson and Courtney Riggs (Engineering Design); Courtney Jervis and Tammy Lockaby (Culinary Arts); Matthew White (Metal Fabrication); and Jacob Zieger (Carpentry).
Mr. Steve Olivieri, Advisor, then began the tapping ceremony. The following senior students were selected for membership in the Elizabeth Abbott Chapter of the National Technical Honor Society for 2015: Wendy Appelmann, Criminal Justice, New Richmond; Tristan Asbrock, Criminal Justice, Felicity-Franklin; Destiny Beckworth, Cosmetology, Bethel-Tate; Kaitlyn Clark, Criminal Justice, Felicity-Franklin; Jeffrey Collins, Metal Fabrication, Felicity-Franklin; Skylar Gould, Allied Health Science, New Richmond; Chloe Henderson, Biotechnology, Bethel-Tate; McKayla Jacobs, Allied Health Science, Felicity-Franklin; Hannah Lewis, Teacher Academy, New Richmond; Erin McKee, Allied Health Science, Bethel-Tate; Ashley Milligan, Allied Health Science, Bethel-Tate; Jacob Robinson, Engineering Design, Bethel-Tate; Kylie Sawyers, Allied Health Science, Bethel-Tate; Mikie Simpson, Metal Fabrication, Felicity-Franklin; and Tonya Snodgrass, Culinary Arts, Williamsburg.

Juniors inducted for membership include Keely Ackerman, Teacher Academy, Williamsburg; Calvin Barrett, Information Technology, Williamsburg; Kyle Barrett, Biotechnology, Williamsburg; Christina Crews, Allied Health Science, New Richmond; Paige Cummins, Allied Health Science, Felicity-Franklin; Kristin Evans, Allied Health Science, New Richmond; Nathaniel Hernandez, Information Technology, Williamsburg; Nicole Hunter, Carpentry, Felicity-Franklin; Tabitha Jackson, Allied Health Science, Bethel-Tate; Ethan McMellan, Information Technology, Felicity-Franklin; Dylan Pemberton, Criminal Justice, Felicity-Franklin; Alexandra Purcell, Allied Health Science, Bethel-Tate; Savanna Rohne, Allied Health Science, Williamsburg; Tegan Schwettman, Biotechnology, Felicity; Steven Squires, Engineering Design, Bethel-Tate; Ricky Vandegrift, Metal Fabrication; Bethel; and Austin Woodruff, Metal Fabrication, Felicity-Franklin.

The oath was administered to the new members by current member, Desirae Murphy, and they were then duly initiated into the Honor Society. Following the ceremony, the inductees were welcomed into the chapter by presiding members at a reception for the new inductees, their parents and special guests.  The faculty and staff of Grant Career Center expressed their pleasure with the outstanding accomplishments of the students and their firm belief in the motto of the Society, “Success Favors the Prepared Mind.”

Print This Article
View text-based website